• Unique, voluntary grass-roots organization
  • Began with 7 Atlanta Stroke Coordinators in 2007
  • Founded in 2009 as Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance
  • Reached Non-Profit Status in 2010
  • Has submitted Abstract to ISC annually since 2012 and presented since 2013
  • Now over 240 members throughout Georgia with representation from hospitals, physician, independent consultants, pharmaceutical and medical device industry representing stroke specific treatments, key stakeholders from the AHA, DPH, Coverdell and leading Research Institution
  • Resource for best practice and mentor those new to stroke care, helps implement “best practices”


Mission Statement


The Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance is committed to stroke prevention and optimizing stroke care through networking and education.

About Us

2017 Officers & Committees


Officers

Chair: Alexis Thomas, St. Francis Health System, Columbus (ThomasAle@sfhga.com)

Co-Chair:  Carol Fleming, Grady Hospital System, Atlanta (cfleming@ghs.org)
Co-Chair:   Susan Gaunt, Gwinnett Health System, Lawrenceville (sgaunt@gwinnettmedicalcenter.org)
Secretary: Cyndi Brasher, Emory, Atlanta  (Cynthia.brasher@emoryhealthcare.org)

Treasurer: Teri Newsome, Habersham Medical Center, Demorest (teri.newsome@hcmcmed.org)

Committee Chairs & Members   
Education: Kimberly Hare: (khare@gmh.edu)

                          Katja Bryant, Northside Hospital, Atlanta (Katja.bryant@northside.com)       


Website/Membership:  Denise Goings, Medical Center Navicent Health, Macon (goings.denise@navicenthealth.org)


Regulatory/Advocacy:  Dr. Diadra W. Biles, AHA/ASA (diadra.biles@heart.org)


Journal Club: Heidi Bailen, Northside, Atlanta  (Heidi.Bailen@northside.com)


Stroke Awareness:  Catherine Whitworth, Spalding Regional, Griffin (catherine.whitworth@wellstar.org)


Bylaws:  Deb Camp, Piedmont Newnan Hospital, Newnan (deborah.camp@piedmont.org)


Coverdell:  Kerrie Krompf, Georgia Coverdell (kkrompf@emory.edu)


GA-SPA Baseball:  Allie Garrett, Southern Regional Medical Center, Riverdale (allison.garrett@southernregional.org)


AHA:  Dr. Diadra Biles, Atlanta (diadra.biles@heart.org)


Research: Lori Webb, Northside, Atlanta (Lori.webb@northside.com)

                       Kiva Schindler, Grady, Atlanta (kiva.m.schindler@emory.edu)