• Unique, voluntary grass-roots organization
  • Began with 7 Atlanta Stroke Coordinators in 2007
  • Founded in 2009 as Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance
  • Reached Non-Profit Status in 2010
  • Has submitted Abstract to ISC annually since 2012 and presented since 2013
  • Now over 240 members throughout Georgia with representation from hospitals, physician, independent consultants, pharmaceutical and medical device industry representing stroke specific treatments, key stakeholders from the AHA, DPH, Coverdell and leading Research Institution
  • Resource for best practice and mentor those new to stroke care, helps implement “best practices”


Mission Statement


About Us

The Georgia Stroke Professional Alliance is committed to stroke prevention and optimizing stroke care through networking and education.

2018 Officers & Committees


Officers

Chair: Carol Fleming, Grady Hospital System, Atlanta (cfleming@ghs.org)

Co-Chair:  Denise Goings, Medical Center Navicent Health, Macon (goings.denise@navicenthealth
Past-Chair:  Alexis Thomas, St. Francis Hospital, Columbus (thomasale@sfhga.com)
Secretary: Holley Adams , Northeast Georgia Health System (holley.adams@nghs.com)

Treasurer: Laura Beth Durm, Emory University (laura.durm@emoryhealthcare.org)

Committee Chairs & Members   
Education: Kimberly Hare: (khare@gmh.edu)

                          Katja Bryant, Northside Hospital, Atlanta (Katja.bryant@northside.com)       


Website/Membership:  Denise Goings, Medical Center Navicent Health, Macon (goings.denise@navicenthealth.org)


Stroke Awareness:  Catherine Whitworth, Spalding Regional, Griffin (catherine.whitworth@wellstar.org)


Bylaws:  Deb Camp, Piedmont Newnan Hospital, Newnan (deborah.camp@piedmont.org)


Coverdell:  Teri Newsome, Georgia Coverdell (teri.newsome@dph.ga.gov)


GA-SPA Baseball:  Vacant


AHA:  Shelley Nichols (Shelley.Nichols@heart.org)


Research: Lori Webb, Northside, Atlanta (Lori.webb@northside.com)